• Register
  • TOS
  • Privacy
  • @NeoGAF
  • Like

bill0527
um, I'll be right back
(11-09-2017, 04:04 AM)
bill0527's Avatar
I don't really keep up with what patches do what for my KS8000. I don't even think Samsung releases patch notes.

So whatever the latest patch is they released that made its way to my TV yesterday has now taken away the HDR banner pop up. Just in time for the Xbox One X release.

Perfect.




Fuck.
chaosaeon
Member
(11-09-2017, 04:35 AM)
chaosaeon's Avatar
Isn't it great to have auto update set to Off, only to turn on the TV and be greeted with a "your firmware has been updated to the latest version" type message. Considering how often these updates either do nothing, break something, or make something worse, that's not even remotely okay.
Karak
Member
(11-09-2017, 05:35 AM)
Karak's Avatar

Originally Posted by bill0527

I don't really keep up with what patches do what for my KS8000. I don't even think Samsung releases patch notes.

So whatever the latest patch is they released that made its way to my TV yesterday has now taken away the HDR banner pop up. Just in time for the Xbox One X release.

Perfect.




Fuck.

Mine has been gone for awhile strangely enough. But I agree their updates have been sort of a bitch lately
bill0527
um, I'll be right back
(11-09-2017, 06:32 AM)
bill0527's Avatar

Originally Posted by Karak

Mine has been gone for awhile strangely enough. But I agree their updates have been sort of a bitch lately

I realize there are people out there who are just the hardest of the hardcore and want FW updates to constantly tweak their set to perfection, but enough is enough. Put shit back and then leave shit alone unless there's a TV self destruct bug that is found. Otherwise tell those people that this is the best they are going to get and then move on and leave this alone.
ManUnkindH
Member
(11-09-2017, 04:15 PM)
ManUnkindH's Avatar
So what's the correct HDR setting for our screens with AC Origins on Xbox One X or the Pro? A friend of mine told me it's quite confusing and couldn't figure it out...
Dr. Zoidberg
Member
(11-09-2017, 05:37 PM)
Dr. Zoidberg's Avatar

Originally Posted by Michie

What are the best settings for using the Switch on this tv?

Originally Posted by RPS37

So seriously, definitive setting for Xbox One X?

Originally Posted by ManUnkindH

So what's the correct HDR setting for our screens with AC Origins on Xbox One X or the Pro?

First, any settings we give are only a starting point. Your tv's panel may not be exactly like ours despite being the same model so your perfect settings would be unique, but you could use them as a starting point.

Second, there's a lot of personal preference in these settings. Some people like a natural picture, whereas others prefer artificial "pop". The settings for those two would be pretty different.

Finally, there are lot of settings and variables on both the TV and Switch/Xbox so writing everything down, getting the labels right, etc. would take time and effort. I don't have time for that right now. But maybe someone else will. I'm sure settings have been posted earlier in the thread.

Originally Posted by Michie

Switch set to full and HDMI black to normal?

That will work. Switch to limited and HDMI Black to Low will also work. As long as the settings match on both ends there is no appreciable difference. You won't get a better picture either way. You will get a bad picture if they are mis-matched. I just keep all my devices on limited/low since that is what some older devices are stuck at and I don't want to worry about having to change it in the TV to match when I go between an older device and a newer one.
Lakerchick4life
Member
(11-10-2017, 02:09 AM)

Originally Posted by ABeezy1388

Does that for me on HDMI 4 as well. I have my PC hooked up on the 4th slot and that's the only one that seems to reset itself everytime as well.

Its annoying..every single time I play the switch it renames itself from Nintendo to HDMI 4 and I have to rename it, anyway to fix this?
WolfRathmA
Member
(11-10-2017, 12:33 PM)
WolfRathmA's Avatar

Originally Posted by Lakerchick4life

Its annoying..every single time I play the switch it renames itself from Nintendo to HDMI 4 and I have to rename it, anyway to fix this?

Yes! Try this. It worked for me!

HDMI AUTO DETECT TOGGLE

The HDMI Auto Detect feature can be turned off on Samsung 2016/2017 TVs using the remote control by pressing a certain key sequence (either IR or Bluetooth remote works).

1. Make sure TV is updated to latest firmware version
2. Switch TV to TV source – HDMI may not work with BT Smart remotes. TV source works with either remote
3. Using IR Remote: Mute + 7 + 2 + 9 + Exit
4. Using Smart Control: Mute + Vol Down + Ch Down + Mute

PLEASE NOTE: TV does not display any messages after you press the above key combination. This function is a toggle. So if you want to turn HDMI Auto Detect on again, press the same key sequence.

This information has already been shared with online Tech Support and the Call Centers.

pieface
Member
(11-10-2017, 02:26 PM)
pieface's Avatar
Noticing some light bleed on my screen when it's black now.

Had it for nearly a year, think I should try replacing it?

EDIT: Just checked, had it over a year now :(
Dr. Zoidberg
Member
(11-10-2017, 04:03 PM)
Dr. Zoidberg's Avatar

Originally Posted by pieface

Noticing some light bleed on my screen when it's black now.
EDIT: Just checked, had it over a year now :(

Sadly this is pretty common for edge-lit displays. What do you keep your backlight set at for non-HDR viewing?

Also, you may want to set up some bias lighting behind the TV which may make the issue much less noticeable. It doesn't have to be anything fancy. I just have a simple lamp set up behind my set but LED light strips are pretty popular and not too expensive.
ManUnkindH
Member
(11-10-2017, 04:04 PM)
ManUnkindH's Avatar

Originally Posted by Dr. Zoidberg

First, any settings we give are only a starting point. Your tv's panel may not be exactly like ours despite being the same model so your perfect settings would be unique, but you could use them as a starting point.

Second, there's a lot of personal preference in these settings. Some people like a natural picture, whereas others prefer artificial "pop". The settings for those two would be pretty different.

Finally, there are lot of settings and variables on both the TV and Switch/Xbox so writing everything down, getting the labels right, etc. would take time and effort. I don't have time for that right now. But maybe someone else will. I'm sure settings have been posted earlier in the thread.



That will work. Switch to limited and HDMI Black to Low will also work. As long as the settings match on both ends there is no appreciable difference. You won't get a better picture either way. You will get a bad picture if they are mis-matched. I just keep all my devices on limited/low since that is what some older devices are stuck at and I don't want to worry about having to change it in the TV to match when I go between an older device and a newer one.


Sorry if I wasn't clear, I meant ingame video settings ofr AC Origins. Heard they're quite confusing.

Question regarding Xbox One X settings: should I put ON the setting " Allow YCC 4 2 2"? Help?
HellforLeather
Member
(11-10-2017, 11:10 PM)
HellforLeather's Avatar

Originally Posted by Karak

Mine has been gone for awhile strangely enough. But I agree their updates have been sort of a bitch lately

Mine seems to pop up at random times but Im in the same boat; it doesnt show at all for the most part.
Dr. Zoidberg
Member
(11-10-2017, 11:29 PM)
Dr. Zoidberg's Avatar

Originally Posted by ManUnkindH

Question regarding Xbox One X settings: should I put ON the setting " Allow YCC 4 2 2"? Help?

You can. It can help solve certain issues with the picture dropping out to a black screen for some sets. You probably won't notice a difference, though.
Neat Machine
Member
(11-11-2017, 01:41 AM)
Neat Machine's Avatar
I thought they fixed the issue where HDR in game mode doesnít retain its own picture settings. Did I imagine that?
Dr. Zoidberg
Member
(11-11-2017, 04:02 AM)
Dr. Zoidberg's Avatar

Originally Posted by Neat Machine

I thought they fixed the issue where HDR in game mode doesnít retain its own picture settings. Did I imagine that?

The fix isnít out yet. Itís due sometime this month but may take weeks to roll out to all markets.
AntsaK2
Junior Member
(11-11-2017, 10:37 AM)
AntsaK2's Avatar
I have connected Samsung soundbar with subwoofer and HW-K450 rear speakers to my KS8000 via a HDMI cable at a ARC port. During any playback with Nintendo Switch or TVs own apps like YouTube, Netflix etc. these speakers works great with full surround sound. I have my also connected my PC on this setup through GTX 1070 HDMI output but with this connection Windows 10 will not recognize Samsung TV as a surround sound device but merely a stereo speaker.

Is there anyway I can fix this with HDMI setup or do I need different connection?
Darko
What the hell are you talking about?
Who are you talking to???
(11-11-2017, 02:13 PM)
Darko's Avatar
What setting are you using for the xbox one x? Every time i turn on hdr the image looks faded
Dr. Zoidberg
Member
(11-11-2017, 03:24 PM)
Dr. Zoidberg's Avatar

Originally Posted by Darko

What setting are you using for the xbox one x? Every time i turn on hdr the image looks faded

I assume you are in Game Mode on the TV? If so, donít forget you need to bump backlight to 20 and set SmartLED to High for HDR content.
Brock2621
Junior Member
(11-11-2017, 05:14 PM)
Iím going to apologize in advance for this but I really donít want to read thousands of posts to find out...

I was interested in picking this TV up last year but held out for possibly jumping onto the OLED bandwagon. Well, Iím refreshing myself on what the market has to offer and Iím considering an LG OLED or saving some money and picking up the 8000.

My main concern is: has Samsung updated the firmware to do auto HDR switching? i.e. will it turn on and off automatically based on the content rather than me having to switch settings like when this tv first came out last year?

Thanks so much for anyone willing to bring me up to date! Cheers!
KrYcHu89
Junior Member
(11-11-2017, 06:01 PM)

Originally Posted by Brock2621

Iím going to apologize in advance for this but I really donít want to read thousands of posts to find out...

I was interested in picking this TV up last year but held out for possibly jumping onto the OLED bandwagon. Well, Iím refreshing myself on what the market has to offer and Iím considering an LG OLED or saving some money and picking up the 8000.

My main concern is: has Samsung updated the firmware to do auto HDR switching? i.e. will it turn on and off automatically based on the content rather than me having to switch settings like when this tv first came out last year?

Thanks so much for anyone willing to bring me up to date! Cheers!

Only in gaming mode it wonít be switched automatically, new update will fix that issue though (end of this month)
Clockwork
Member
(11-11-2017, 06:10 PM)
Clockwork's Avatar

Originally Posted by AntsaK2

I have connected Samsung soundbar with subwoofer and HW-K450 rear speakers to my KS8000 via a HDMI cable at a ARC port. During any playback with Nintendo Switch or TVs own apps like YouTube, Netflix etc. these speakers works great with full surround sound. I have my also connected my PC on this setup through GTX 1070 HDMI output but with this connection Windows 10 will not recognize Samsung TV as a surround sound device but merely a stereo speaker.

Is there anyway I can fix this with HDMI setup or do I need different connection?

No. ARC is limited to 2.0 channel PCM or 5.1 compressed formats (Dolby Digital/DTS).

1070 doesn't have on the fly 5.1 (Like Dolby Digital Live) so all you are going to get is uncompressed stereo.

Which brings me to this:

Switch only does PCM surround and does not support DD/DTS. I don't think you are getting true surround from that.

Originally Posted by bill0527

So whatever the latest patch is they released that made its way to my TV yesterday has now taken away the HDR banner pop up. Just in time for the Xbox One X release.

Perfect.

Fuck.

This has been the case for quite some time.
Lakerchick4life
Member
(11-11-2017, 07:17 PM)

Originally Posted by WolfRathmA

Yes! Try this. It worked for me!

Im not understanding how to do that..the only issue I have is with HDMI 4, its where my Nintendo Switch is connected..the PS4 is connected to HDMI 2 and is fine, same with the XBOX..but for some reason, HDMI 4 only has this issue when I turn off the console(I dont put it into sleep mode) it will change the name automatically from Nintendo to HDMI 4..and I have to keep on renaming it, only happens with HDMI 4 so not sure how to fix it
Brock2621
Junior Member
(11-11-2017, 07:32 PM)

Originally Posted by KrYcHu89

Only in gaming mode it wonít be switched automatically, new update will fix that issue though (end of this month)

Perfect, thank you very much for taking the time to respond. Could you shoot me a link with that info?

Iím thinking of just saving the $500-$800 and picking one of these bad boys up.
Grinchy
Member
(11-12-2017, 02:46 AM)
Grinchy's Avatar

Originally Posted by Darko

What setting are you using for the xbox one x? Every time i turn on hdr the image looks faded

Apologies if this is a dumb recommendation, but do make sure you're not using the HDR+ mode.

I noticed this on my brother's TV one day when we were watching Netflix and everything was so dim I couldn't even make out what was happening in dark scenes of Stranger Things. He thought he was just turning on HDR :(
AntsaK2
Junior Member
(11-12-2017, 10:23 AM)
AntsaK2's Avatar

Originally Posted by Clockwork

No. ARC is limited to 2.0 channel PCM or 5.1 compressed formats (Dolby Digital/DTS).

1070 doesn't have on the fly 5.1 (Like Dolby Digital Live) so all you are going to get is uncompressed stereo.

Thank you for responding. Any suggestion for how to connect my PC and 5.1 surround at this setup?
o'dium
Junior Member
(11-12-2017, 10:26 AM)
o'dium's Avatar
Nah same issue here.

In Forza Horizon 3, the image is so faded and grey that I have to turn on Dynamic Contrast. If I don't, the whole UI looks a mess. In Creed: Origins, theres a hell of a lot of fog/smudge on the screen that makes it look quite washed out at times.

I've followed so many different HDR tutorials now, each one produces the same results :( It sucks.

In fact the only one thing I've seen HDR working "ok" in, was the Insect demo for Xbox One X. Other than that... Its a nightmare.
reektann
Member
(11-12-2017, 10:45 AM)
reektann's Avatar
For some reason if I enable HDR in W10 when outputting from my 1080ti to my KS8000 it goes black for a moment then comes back and itís really grey with a slightly blurry effect. Only thing I can think is itís the cable.

Pro shows HDR no problem.
CRUNT
Member
(11-12-2017, 10:45 AM)
CRUNT's Avatar
omg

I saw 3 white dots at the top of my screen and then 3 red ones not far from them. I thought it was pixel problems for sure and maybe it still is...but I fixed it.

In menu went to Support and Self Diagnosis to start picture test. They went away before the picture test even started. BTW it's a pretty cool looking picture if you've never tried it.

Hopefully that's the last I'll see of them, kinda scared.
reektann
Member
(11-12-2017, 06:17 PM)
reektann's Avatar
Tried two more cables - no dice.

HDR on a 1080ti just doesnt seem to work on HDMI. Confusing.
LiLSnorpSnorp
Member
(11-12-2017, 06:39 PM)
Is the ks8000 still a good purchase? Or is there something newer around the same price range? Want to hook it up to PC (1080ti) and eventually an Xbox one x
Clockwork
Member
(11-12-2017, 06:45 PM)
Clockwork's Avatar

Originally Posted by reektann

For some reason if I enable HDR in W10 when outputting from my 1080ti to my KS8000 it goes black for a moment then comes back and itís really grey with a slightly blurry effect. Only thing I can think is itís the cable.

Pro shows HDR no problem.

This is normal. The desktop looks like garbage in HDR mode.

Start up an HDR game and it will look normal.
reektann
Member
(11-12-2017, 09:03 PM)
reektann's Avatar
Crikey really? If I set it to 8 bit it looks normal. 10bit and itís pure grey and weird.

Iíll try it out though - I guess you have to enable HDR then disable it each time then. Ugh.
AndyD
aka andydumi
(11-13-2017, 01:45 AM)
AndyD's Avatar
Is the KS8000 getting Dolby Vision or HDR10? Can it theoretically support either?

I ask because I am getting a new receiver and trying to figure out if I need either of those to be supported. HDMI 2.0, HDCP 2.2, HDR and 4K are covered.
sorabora
Junior Member
(11-13-2017, 01:52 AM)
sorabora's Avatar
I will be so happy when/if that Game Mode HDR firmware comes out. Thatís been bugging me since day one.
rcl66
Member
(11-13-2017, 01:59 AM)

Originally Posted by KrYcHu89

Only in gaming mode it wonít be switched automatically, new update will fix that issue though (end of this month)

Curious where your getting that information? Would be fantastic if that does happen.
Krappadizzle
Member
(11-13-2017, 02:14 AM)
Krappadizzle's Avatar

Originally Posted by AndyD

Is the KS8000 getting Dolby Vision or HDR10? Can it theoretically support either?

I ask because I am getting a new receiver and trying to figure out if I need either of those to be supported. HDMI 2.0, HDCP 2.2, HDR and 4K are covered.

It already supports HDR10, which is the most common HDR standard.
Brock2621
Junior Member
(11-13-2017, 02:43 AM)

Originally Posted by AndyD

Is the KS8000 getting Dolby Vision or HDR10? Can it theoretically support either?

I ask because I am getting a new receiver and trying to figure out if I need either of those to be supported. HDMI 2.0, HDCP 2.2, HDR and 4K are covered.

My assumption is no on the Dolby Vision, the requirements are much more stringent for accuracy and color reproduction than HDR10.
chaosaeon
Member
(11-13-2017, 04:35 AM)
chaosaeon's Avatar
Mine said a new update is available about a couple hours ago. Holding off on it to make sure they don't just break everybody's TV's or ruin something else.
Grinchy
Member
(11-13-2017, 05:11 AM)
Grinchy's Avatar

Originally Posted by chaosaeon

Mine said a new update is available about a couple hours ago. Holding off on it to make sure they don't just break everybody's TV's or ruin something else.

I hope they bring the HDR message back. It's just nice to know it's working properly.
chaosaeon
Member
(11-13-2017, 05:26 AM)
chaosaeon's Avatar

Originally Posted by Grinchy

I hope they bring the HDR message back. It's just nice to know it's working properly.

The banner, yeah I liked that too. I know you can manually check but I much preferred the pop up, felt like it was "switching on".
Dr. Zoidberg
Member
(11-13-2017, 06:26 PM)
Dr. Zoidberg's Avatar
So it's clear to me that for some reason game studios are calibrating or developing for two different HDR standards or something. I say this because games on the same console, even across consoles, using the same TV input and settings, vary in their HDR implementations. This isn't just a case of being good or bad implementations, but that the brightness/gamma is completely off in some of them. They aren't being fixed or acknowledged as a problem. The issue is the same on both X1X and PS4Pro. It's possible this is just a KS8000 problem but if so, I'm not sure why some games behave as expected and others don't.

On the KS8000, provided your TV is configured properly, in Game Mode you have to manually bump the backlight to 20 and Smart LED to high when playing an HDR title. This is expected. This adjustment is adequate and results in a nice image for some titles. Examples:

Gears 4 (X)
Halo 3 (X)
Horizon (Pro)
Insects Demo (X)

On the other hand, there are many titles where this will result in a dim, dull image. It's so far off the mark it can't be a simple mistake.

Elder Scrolls Online (X and Pro)
Everybody's Golf (Pro)

The best way to deal with these titles is to perform these additional adjustments:

Contrast to 100
Dynamic Contrast to Low or Med (varies)
Gamma to +1 or +2 (varies)
Color Space to Native

After making these adjustments, these games can look great, but the question is WHY we have to make these adjustments. Why does there seem to be two output targets for HDR gaming? Are some of these games targeting Dolby Vision and others HDR10? I wish someone would investigate this discrepancy. Even after they fix the Samsung issue where Game mode doesn't save an HDR settings profile, we will still have to go in and fiddle with settings on a per-game basis because of this.

Originally Posted by Brock2621

My assumption is no on the Dolby Vision, the requirements are much more stringent for accuracy and color reproduction than HDR10.

It also costs money to license, which is probably the bigger hurdle for DV support.
Clutchman
Junior Member
(11-13-2017, 07:36 PM)

Originally Posted by Dr. Zoidberg

So it's clear to me that for some reason game studios are calibrating or developing for two different HDR standards or something. I say this because games on the same console, even across consoles, using the same TV input and settings, vary in their HDR implementations. This isn't just a case of being good or bad implementations, but that the brightness/gamma is completely off in some of them. They aren't being fixed or acknowledged as a problem. The issue is the same on both X1X and PS4Pro. It's possible this is just a KS8000 problem but if so, I'm not sure why some games behave as expected and others don't.

On the KS8000, provided your TV is configured properly, in Game Mode you have to manually bump the backlight to 20 and Smart LED to high when playing an HDR title. This is expected. This adjustment is adequate and results in a nice image for some titles. Examples:

Gears 4 (X)
Halo 3 (X)
Horizon (Pro)
Insects Demo (X)

On the other hand, there are many titles where this will result in a dim, dull image. It's so far off the mark it can't be a simple mistake.

Elder Scrolls Online (X and Pro)
Everybody's Golf (Pro)

The best way to deal with these titles is to perform these additional adjustments:

Contrast to 100
Dynamic Contrast to Low or Med (varies)
Gamma to +1 or +2 (varies)
Color Space to Native

After making these adjustments, these games can look great, but the question is WHY we have to make these adjustments. Why does there seem to be two output targets for HDR gaming? Are some of these games targeting Dolby Vision and others HDR10? I wish someone would investigate this discrepancy. Even after they fix the Samsung issue where Game mode doesn't save an HDR settings profile, we will still have to go in and fiddle with settings on a per-game basis because of this.



It also costs money to license, which is probably the bigger hurdle for DV support.

Gears 4 has HDR options in the settings. The default options were wrong I'm assuming because the game asks for the middle logo to be barely visible. I made it so I could barely see the outline of the logo. I'm sure as more games with HDR come out we will see more options like this. To be honest I couldn't tell that much of a difference between the default and what I had it on. If you try the settings, please let me know what you see.

I will say this much, HDR is presented much better through the X then on the Pro and I have both. Everything looks more vibrant and less dull compared to the Pro version. Madden was the only game I could compare but I've read that thought from a couple others as well.
MilkyJoe
Member
(11-13-2017, 07:59 PM)
MilkyJoe's Avatar
Top tip, if you have an Xbox one X and gears 4, turn on dynamic contrast and set it to high. It looks so good. Definitely do not do this for Forza 7 though.
Clutchman
Junior Member
(11-13-2017, 10:09 PM)

Originally Posted by MilkyJoe

Top tip, if you have an Xbox one X and gears 4, turn on dynamic contrast and set it to high. It looks so good. Definitely do not do this for Forza 7 though.

I think the complete opposite. For me it needs to be off or low. You lose tons of details having it that high.
MilkyJoe
Member
(11-13-2017, 10:13 PM)
MilkyJoe's Avatar

Originally Posted by Clutchman

I think the complete opposite. For me it needs to be off or low. You lose tons of details having it that high.

You do on all the other games, Gears 4 looks amazing.
Zurick
Member
(11-13-2017, 10:16 PM)
Zurick's Avatar
Is there a way to find this for normal price in Canada still?
chaosaeon
Member
(11-13-2017, 10:31 PM)
chaosaeon's Avatar

Originally Posted by Zurick

Is there a way to find this for normal price in Canada still?

It never was a normal price in Canada. It was always a rip off just like most other things. It was always marked up higher than just the exchange rate alone.
Zurick
Member
(11-13-2017, 11:06 PM)
Zurick's Avatar

Originally Posted by chaosaeon

It never was a normal price in Canada. It was always a rip off just like most other things. It was always marked up higher than just the exchange rate alone.

So I take that that's a no? What about the good TCL model?
carsar
Member
(11-13-2017, 11:27 PM)
Can you help me to find some info about real scenes brightness of KS TVs? The L20 HDR pattern and 1/10/20% white windows are not showing the real situation. Rtings tells about 450-500nit real scene brightness. HDTVpolska tells about 400-800 nit for ks7000/7500/8000 and 1100 for ks9800(FALD). I'm just wondering if these TVs can achieve 800+ real scene brightness and which scene can force them to do that)
Too sad no one tried to measure peak brightness in HDR games...
Clutchman
Junior Member
(11-14-2017, 12:44 AM)

Originally Posted by MilkyJoe

You do on all the other games, Gears 4 looks amazing.

I thought gears is supposed to be gritty looking? At high it takes all of that away and makes it to bright. Just my opinion though, as it is a fantastic looking game overall. Did you adjust the HDR settings in the menu of Gears at all?

I've been playing Sunset Overdrive and I've never played it on the OG or S but it looks downright amazing on the X. Everything looks so smooth, no jaggies anywhere! I'm very happy w my purchase so far.

Thread Tools